R.C. Willey Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At R.C. Willey
Shop Audio or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at R.C. Willey.

Sony Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones

No more fussing with messy wires. The MDR-RF970RK wireless headphones system provides virtual surround sound without the inconvenience of wires. Enjoy your music without wires. The MDR-RF970RK features noise reduction technology that really lets you listen to your tunes without any unwanted sounds. Travel in freedom up to 150 feet from your sound source (the headphone dock) while delivering higher fidelity stereo sound. This system includes Ni-MH rechargeable batteries, 900MHz RF wireless transmission and headphones with a 40mm driver for deep bass. An auto tuning feature conveniently scans up and down the band to automatically tune in channels. Hear the difference with the MDR-RF970RK wireless headphones system. 900MHz RF Wireless transmission, FM stereo sound Induction charging: not direct pin contact for ease Noise Reduction technology to reduce interference Neodymium magnets for higher fidelity sound Inputs: Stereo mini jack x1, Pin jack x2 (L/R)
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Review 1 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sony wireless headphones

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
silvergranny
These headphones work great! They make your ears a little warm after wearing them for an extended period of time, but we are able to hear the audio from TV throughout house.
Pros: Great Sound, Attractive Design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Much Ambient Noise

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
KSW
from Salt Lake City, UT
Just didn't measure up. There was constant static that I couldn't get rid of. I eventually returned the product for a "wired" solution. If you're looking for sound quality I would steer clear.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor Sound, Too Much Ambient Noise
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What happened to the Wireless?

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fin
from Kaysville, UT
It was everything I didn't expect and didn't want.
Just know that this product is not portable. I wanted a new pair of headphones for my iPod so that I could listen to my music wirelessly, I thought it was a great and simple idea, yet with this product, that didn't quite work out. Turns out, you have to be within 150 ft. of the actual corded dock for the headphones to connect with your iPod or other audio device. So, unless you have a jack built into your chest, I'd think twice about this item.
I would say it'd be a good buy to keep in your room and use with the computer, T.V., or music source from there, yet I can't because of the horrible sound quality. It was nearly unbearable to listen to after hardly five minuets. Since the headphones connect to the dock through FM radio waves the sound quality is like listening to a crummy radio station; you get all the fuzz and crackles that often come around, and it definitely distracts and disturbs. Sure, there's a tuning button but no matter how tuned my headphones were, the static persisted.
Another pain added to this package is that every time you take the headphones off they turn off (to save battery power, which, by the way, took over sixteen hours to charge). This is a problem because sometimes the headphones will turn off if you simply adjust them on your head, then you have to wait for the pause. . . snap, crackle, and pop until you can listen to your music again. Perhaps I have a small head but none-the-less that's just proof that this product wasn't for me. I'm sure some people may enjoy it . . . . I don't know who, but there are a lot of people out there.
It pains me to say I have nothing good to say about this product other than they felt somewhat nice to wear; however, they were much to large, at least for my taste.
All in all, I would not recommend these headphones for anyone. There's a possibility some people may like it for a permanent spot in a room for their personal audio needs, but for the price, I wouldn't buy. Not a pleasant product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive Design, Poor Sound, Too Much Ambient Noise
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is our second set.

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
D.J.
from Ut.
You can tune out the rest of the household and enjoy your program. When your hard of hearing they are great!!
Pros: Durable, Great Sound, Lightweight, Good Bass, Comfortable, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally Satisfied

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Geno
from Twin Falls, ID
I use em for tv (being courtious to my bride) my iPod touch, music library, audiobooks, laptop, and for just about everything else when corded headphones just aren't feasible. There are only 2 real knocks so far, and are relatively minor. The picking up of some electronic hissing/background noise can be a little irritating at times (although some of it may be my fault by the way I'm using them /activities, etc.) Plus they seem just a little bit spendy to me, but I'd spend the $$ again to replace em, if needed!
Pros: Flexible Fit, Great Sound, Comfortable, Good Wireless Range
Cons: Smaller would be better, Electronic "Hiss" At Time
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

earphones

PostedJune 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stenson
from orem
the extra fuzz noise is horrible
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Too Much Ambient Noise, Poor Sound
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent

PostedJanuary 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Don The Sleeper
from Las Vegas, Nv
for letting one spouse sleep while the other enjoys the TV
Pros: Good Bass, Lightweight, Rich Sound, Comfortable, Compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now he can hear!

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Retired Bob
from Salt Lake City, UT
When I use the headphones, I don't need volume up or sub-titles. That makes my wife happy!
Pros: Comfortable, Good Bass, Rich Sound, Highly Compatible, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Headphone

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
redrockrose
from Ballard, UT
This has saved my ears. My husband can't hear well anymore so the tv was always turned up so loud. Now we can turn the tv volume down and he can listen comfortably with the headphones.
Pros: Comfortable, Rich Sound, Lightweight, Good Bass
Cons: Cord Too Short
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve
from Springville, UT
Very convenient, allows someone to watch TV while others are engaged in a different activity.
Pros: Rich Sound, Handy, Convenient, Lightweight, Comfortable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Sound!!

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barb
from Henderson, NV
We use these headphones mainly to watch TV and not disturb anyone else in the house. They work great and give a rich stereo sound. Easy to adjust the volumn and comfortable to wear. Works great for us.
Pros: Good Bass, Comfortable, Highly Compatible, Rich Sound, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Wireless Radio Frequency Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sound!

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
football afficionado
from Placerville
Now I can watch all the games I want without driving my wife nuts with the game noise.
Pros: Highly Compatible, Rich Sound, Lightweight, Comfortable, Compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.